Skip to content

What I Learned From My Day With Oprah

April 27, 2012

Recently, I was lucky enough to get to spend a day with one of the great legends of our time, Ms. Oprah Winfrey, as a participant in her Life Class. This is the second time I have been with Oprah in person, and every time I am around her, I learn something new that makes me look at my life and the world around me in a different way.

I would like to share my ‘Top 5 Lessons Learned From Oprah’ with you.

1. One thing I’ve heard Oprah say several times is that in order to be a success in business, you need to work hard and then work even harder. When you’ve worked as much as you can, let go and let it flow. It is at this time that the universe will do the work for you. So true. Sometimes I appreciate this reminder as I have got the work part under control with my Life and Leadership firm Potential Unlimited, but I need to remind myself regularly to allow things to flow.

2. Even very successful people fail. Oprah’s new OWN Network by all accounts is failing to meet expectations right now. Remember, it is okay to fail as long as you look for the lessons in each failure to avoid going down that path again. I have no doubt Oprah will be able to turn the current situation with her network around.

3. When we do fail, our fans will still love us. Being with Oprah is kind of like being with a rock star. She is swarmed by people who adore her. Even though, her business endeavours are not thriving right now like she has hoped (although, she is most definitely not hurting financially!!), people still love her. They remember all the great things she has done. Your successes will not be erased in the eyes of those who believe in you too!

4.Face time is key. I am not referring to the need to sit behind a desk for a certain number of hours just to show the boss you are working. What I am talking about here is actually making the time to meet people in person and build relationships. Technology takes us away from face-time, so you need to make an extra effort to keep meeting people. Oprah, despite her busy schedule, is a master at setting up forums where she can meet people and shake hands.

5. Never stop learning and growing. People may look at Oprah and think, what more does she need to do. She is already a great success. I think for Oprah her job is a channel through which she can use her passions to help people and for her to keep growing and improving. I encourage each of you to be like Oprah and keep raising the bar for yourself to be a better person and to make the world a greater place.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,068 other followers

