Skip to content

The No Vacation Nation

July 30, 2011

The August 2011 issue of CA Magazine for Accountants featured an article with some interesting, but disturbing statistics. (Sadly) 90 per cent of Canadian and other international executives say they were available for work during their holidays. And a staggering 1 in 3 Canadians between the ages of 24 and 44 brand themselves as workaholics.

I am a strong believer in the ‘work hard play hard’ motto. I know from my own experience as well as from those who I have worked with that those people who take the time to enjoy ouside interests aside from work, including their vacation time, tend to be much more productive and happier in all areas of their lives.

So when I read this article, and many other articles which support these stats, it first of all confirms that I have my work cut out for me at Potential Unlimited in helping to create more balanced, productive people. But also, I see it as a wake up call to all of us that we are creating unhealthy habits for ourselves that do not serve us in anyway except maybe the short-term. I challenge executives around the world to bring more balance and joy into your lives and work on creating greater lives for yourselves outside of the office too. The payoff? A happier life that will lead to greater productivity in the office too!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 11:52 pm

    I’ve often wondered if it’s possible to “climb the ladder” but still have a work-life balance. Thankfully, so far this summer I am in the good 10 per cent.

  2. July 31, 2011 3:36 pm

    So important to have good family vacation time.

  3. C.G. Greenham, I permalink
    July 31, 2011 9:07 pm

    “The only place success comes before work is the dictionary.”
    -VS

  4. Jennie Rice permalink
    August 1, 2011 3:24 pm

    Looking forward to reading more great blog posts – thanks Carey-Ann!

  5. Jeff Griffith permalink
    August 4, 2011 7:11 pm

    Carey-Ann, I definitely agree with your post, I see many people guilty of the exact behaviour you are noting, allowing work to take away from the enjoyment of their vacation. A vacation is just that, a break away from our day to day activities, to do something different and allow ourselves to recharge and be more productive when we return to work. Even during non-vacation periods, finding something to inspire yourself and bring joy to your day is extremely important and will help reduce the stress of work. Best of luck in helping others create that balance!

    • August 4, 2011 8:23 pm

      Jeff, I really like how you talked about vacations being a break from your regular day-to-day activities. And I believe that you are right, we really do need breaks throughout our ‘regular’ days too to be productive and happy. Well said!

Leave a Reply

