Skip to content

My 9/11 Commitment

September 11, 2011

I think we can all remember where we were 10 years ago today.  Many of us felt many emotions ranging from confusion to anger and then, deep sadness.  All of a sudden our problems seemed to pale in comparison to what was going on in the world around us.

Today, I sit back and think of the tragic loss of lives and all of the people who were affected by the result of a few terrorists. I think about my life…have I stepped up to make a difference? Have I always made time for those around me who needed me? Am I a model citizen? The answer is no, not always.

But what I can say is that since 9/11, I take more time to ‘smell the roses.’ Everyday, I tell my husband and children I love them and how lucky I am to have them in my life. And, I take chances in my career because you never know if ‘tomorrow never comes..’

And on the tenth anniversary of the 9/11 tragedy, as I reflect I think about how fortunate I am to have such wonderful people in my life. I am so happy to be operating my own Life and Career Development firm, Potential Unlimited, where I get the chance to work with amazing people to help them reach their full potential at work and home. But there is something missing.

The past few years, I have thought that I’d like to write a book.  I’ve said that I’ll get to it some day when I have more life experience; when I’ve met more contacts who have actually written books themselves. Someday when I get more time…But today as I think about the victims of 9/11, it came upon me like a lightening bolt, that there is never going to be a ‘perfect time’ to write this book.  And who says my life has to be limited to one book so why wait to gain all of that life experience so I can write it in my later years.

I think about the people who died 10 years ago today. The people working at the World Trade Center, the people at the Pentagon, the brave passengers who fought back and made the third plane take an early plunge landing saving countless other lives.  I think of the courageous firemen and firewomen, the police, the mayor of New York City Rudy Giuliani, the ‘normal’ every day people who turned into heroes a thousand times over as they rose to the occasion and helped the rescue efforts as needed.  I think of all these people and know they would likely tell me and others to live each day to the fullest.

I think about the type of work I do and my clients. How can I tell others not to settle for less than they deserve when I am not yet living my wildest dreams.  So with that being said, I have made the decision today to begin writing my first book.  I have no idea how long it will take or the process I need to follow to make this happen. If anyone has any expertise in this area, I am ready to listen and learn. But, I have set my commitment today to myself and to all of you. I am not going to make any more excuses for taking this risk to do something I really want to do. And as a wise person once said, “in this life, there are no dress rehearsals.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristine Kraemer permalink
    September 13, 2011 10:04 am

    Beautifully written Carey-Ann! Thank you for the inspirational msg. You have inspired me to reflect on my ‘dreams’ and look towards making them a reality, sooner rather than later. Kristine Kraemer

  2. September 13, 2011 12:16 pm

    Thanks Kristine. I am so happy to hear that you are going to reflect on your dreams now. I believe we all have wonderful, unique gifts we bring into the world. You, my friend, have many special gifts to share.

    Not sure if you are on Facebook, but I’d love you to join others who LIKE Potential Unlimited. Click here and hit ‘Like’ to receive daily inspiration, tools and tips to help you continue on your journey for even more greatness in your life…http://www.facebook.com/pages/Potential-Unlimited/117575671670043

Leave a Reply

