Skip to content

Why I Love Running in the Rain – And Why My Career and Life are Better For It!

October 17, 2011

When I run in the rain, I often get weird expressions from passersby in their cars. Somebody has even yelled out to me, “why don’t you wait to run until tomorrow when the weather is nicer?” But I don’t mind the rain. The sensation of it on my skin makes me feel alive. I know these people think I am a hard-core runner, but the reality is that I am not. What I am, is hard-core on taking care of myself and going the distance in my career and in my life – no matter what the conditions. Sometimes that means going out when others choose to stay inside.

The number one reason my coaching clients state for not living their lives to the fullest  is they have no time to make things happen. I hate to say it, but there is never going to be a really good time to do half of what we want to do in this lifetime. We can always find a reason not do something. But if you dig below the time issue, often you will uncover some fear. We might be scared of failure, embarrassment, financial ruin or maybe we’ll actually get what we want and then not want it anymore.

So you might ask how do I get to make time with a baby, toddler and a business to do everything I do, including working out each day? Or how did I overcome the fear of failing when I resigned from my job as a vice-president and started my own firm? I assure you, I am scared of failing at something all the time.

But, what I can share with you is the power of believing in yourself and taking the risk anyway. Know that you are worthy and you have got what it takes to make it to the top in your career. You don’t have to settle. You only get one chance in this life to do what you want to do. There are no dress rehearsals. Sometimes my clients just need to hear that, sometimes there are deeper issues holding them back that we need to work on together to overcome. But the reality is that the world really is your oyster. So regardless if you are a runner or not, I challenge you to lace up in your life and play big. Take care of yourself, listen to your gut instinct, tune into your passion and live life to the fullest…then watch your career and life soar to new heights! To learn more about how Potential Unlimited is helping clients LIVE BIG, visit www.potentialunlimited.ca.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    November 9, 2011 7:07 am

    Great post! Great counsel!

    • November 9, 2011 8:39 am

      Thanks Gary. I see so many people first coming to me and Potential Unlimited because they are frustrated with living a ‘mundane’ life. They want to be doing more with their lives and they are not. I hope this blog post reminds them that they can live a life that is full of passion. But, the first step starts within each person!

  2. Suzi Miley permalink
    November 9, 2011 2:08 pm

    Great message! I appreciate the reminder to live life fully!! Thanks!!

    Suzi

    • November 9, 2011 7:58 pm

      Thanks Suzi for your comments! Yes, it is easy to fall into habits and a mundane way of life (which some days isn’t all that bad either). But I find overall, we are capable of living bigger than many of us actually dare to do.

Leave a Reply

