Skip to content

Motherhood Changes Everything!

February 24, 2012

Someone once said to me, ‘There will never be a more difficult or more rewarding job in the world than being a Mom.’ Now that I am a mother of two beautiful little girls, I see how true this statement is.

As I write this article, I reflect upon my night with two children up with colds, sleeping only from 5 a.m. to 6 a.m. until the alarm goes off and time to begin my ‘work day’ as an executive. Sometimes I wonder why I am doing everything I do. But, I do enjoy my job and and being a Mom, well…when a little girl with a runny nose comes over and plants a kiss on my cheek, I know there is no greater bonus than what I just received.

I have rarely met or worked with a woman who has said that having children hasn’t changed her life dramatically. I know many of us have gone through that transition of being carefree and single, to being in a serious relationship and then taking that leap of faith to entering Motherhood.

Once you have children, you need to consider nap schedules, bedtime, play dates and their activities into your schedule. Your life becomes about choosing priorities, finding out the ‘balance’ that works for your family.

I have found that having children provided me the great opportunity to pull back from my life and take a look at what I really want. Sure, I don’t have time to spend long days at the spa right now. But, there are definitely things I can still do for me.

I believe one thing we need to do as Moms is continue to carve out some time for ourselves each day. Even if that is reading our favourite book on our morning commute (assuming you don’t drive to work!) or meditating for 10 minutes first thing in the morning. You still need to live for you! By being true to yourself in your job choices, hobbies, and time to spend with your spouse and friends, you are able to refuel yourself to be a better Mom.

I found that having children was such a life changing experience for me that actually allowed me to make many positive changes in my own life. I see a lot of Moms struggle with trying to find who they are once they become a parent. It is a time of soul searching and reflection as well as reassessing priorities and establishing a new level of balance to make everything work. As a way to help women struggling with these issues, I have added an ‘After the Baby’ coaching program.

You have grown. You have deepened. And, your life has changed in so many ways. Do you find yourself asking who am I? What do I want out of life now? What are my passions? What do I want to do with my life? How can I balance everything? This coaching program addresses all of these issues and many others.

I would like to share some of my tips with you for enjoying Motherhood, while not losing yourself along the way.

1. Learn to meditate or find a way to build at least 10 minutes of relaxation into each day that is just for you.

2. Talk to other women. Now is the time you need friends more than ever. The tendency is to reduce your visits with gal pals as you become so busy, but you need each others support now more than ever.

3. Role model self-care to your children. Don’t be afraid to take vacations, spa trips or a trip to the local coffee shop to read a paper. Moms often feel they don’t have time for this or feel the guilt of doing something for themselves. Your children watch what you do. Treat yourself well and they will treat themselves well too.

4. Find your purpose. Keep focused on something that makes you passionate in your life outside of your children. Some day your children will grow up and ‘fly from the nest’ and you need to have something in your life that is for you.

5.Love your children passionately. This sounds like an easy one. But often we are so busy trying to be all things to all people that our minds have drifted 100 other places when we are with our children. I once read a quote saying “Your children need your presence more than your presents.” So true…and this is one that I need to focus on too more in my life.

6.Exercise each day. Even if you only have 15 minutes, grab it and use it to exercise. Women’s bodies and self esteem can be impacted by the tremendous changes we go through after carrying and giving birth to a child. Not only will exercise make you look great, you’ll feel great too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

