Skip to content

Why I Drive My Life Like A Corvette

June 8, 2012

Since the time I was a very young girl, I’ve always been attracted to cars, particularly Corvettes. At the age of 4, I had my first Corvette dinky car. And in my twenties, it’s not surprising I was working at General Motors. I had always dreamed of owning a Corvette. I think I secretly felt inside that when I owned this car I would really know I had made it in this world.

So, you can imagine the amazing feeling I had the first time I sat behind the wheel and drove this car home. I was on top of the world! I remember looking in store windows as I drove by just to see the reflection of me driving this eye-catching car. I drove it fast and hard…like a Corvette is meant to be driven, right?

Around this time in my life, I started to learn what real stress was all about. I felt completely under the gun at work…When I succeeded somewhere, there was no time to celebrate as I had to leap into action to attack the next project with deadlines looming. Even though I started to experience some health problems, I thought I was thriving because I was able to produce results everywhere I went. But, I was starting to go off track in my life. The Corvette was teaching me a life lesson when I finally took the time to look at more than just the reflection in those store windows.

Corvettes are beautiful – just like my beautiful gift of life is…as is yours. These cars are fast. I was fast, although I was driving myself at top speed in all areas of my life all the time. But, cars need breaks, even race cars. If they don’t make a Pit Stop during a race, they will eventually breakdown. How many times have you felt as if you were heading for a breakdown in some way, but just kept on pushing? Well, I sure have been there.

I started to really understand I needed to take breaks to take care of myself. I couldn’t power through everything if I wanted to be a high performance ‘machine.’ It is when I came upon this realization that I started to really win the race in my life.

Just like you know you have to stop to fill up your car with gas, you also need to stop every once in a while to fill up your own life’s tank – with love from spending time with those you care about, with education (we all need updates to our own owner’s manuals as we evolve into new models), and support. Even a top high-performance car will not move an inch until it has a driver. This is like your gut instinct that shows you where to go…or not to go.

No matter what your car of choice, take care of yourself. This is the key to going the distance in your career and in your life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

