Skip to content

My ‘Call on Me’ Initiative – In Memory of Amanda Todd

October 22, 2012

If you haven’t heard the story of Amanda Todd featured all over the news recently, it is a tragic one. This girl, a Grade 7 student at the time, made the judgement in error of photographing her chest on a dare from friends. Well, as you can imagine the photo was circulated and she suffered a great deal of shame. To make matters worse, a cyberspace bully got a hold of the photo and used it to relentless taunt her for years. She felt she couldn’t escape the shame. She eventually made the decision to end her life.

After hearing Amanda’s story, I felt a deep sense of sadness. I think about my own young daughters and the struggles they will face as they grow. I reflect upon times in my life when I was bullied and treated poorly by others. I remember days not wanting to go to school because I was so scared of the ‘mean kids’ there.

Amanda was persecuted because of some decisions she made. This reminds me of a sign I passed in front of a store this week, “Don’t judge others because they sin differently then you.” So true. We all make mistakes.

The reality is there are so many troubled children out there that need help. I know I can’t change the world single-handedly, but I need to start somewhere. As such, I have created the ‘Call on Me’ initiative that gives troubled girls a place to turn. I will take calls (or I will find a colleague coach who will) free of charge from girls who are feeling like they have no where else to turn and they need help.

Before Amanda died, she put out a cry for help on You Tube. I did not see her video before she died, but have seen it since. I believe we all have a responsibility to help our youth…regardless if they are our own children or not. Remember, even a smile or a friendly word can make all the difference to a child who is desperately looking for support.

If you know of a girl who seems in need of support, please give her my email address – ceo@potentialunlimited.ca – and I would like to help coach her to find the support she needs so she can get her life back on track. I need your help to get the word out that troubled girls can ‘Call on Me.’

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny Reyno permalink
    October 30, 2012 12:09 pm

    Way to go, Carey-Ann! My own daughter, at 22, is dealing with the aftermath of years of bullying. For years I felt helpless not knowing how to help her, so if there is any way that I can help you with this, please let me know.

    • October 30, 2012 12:18 pm

      Hi Jenny.

      Thanks for sharing your family’s personal story on this. Bullying affects so many of us. And, it really is not okay. I do believe as adults, we serve as role models for our children and we also have a responsibility to help children in need. Thanks for your offer for help too. I may call on you at some point for this.

  2. Krista Taylor permalink
    October 30, 2012 12:48 pm

    I love your idea and being the mother of young people I too see the value in a community approach rather than just trying to protect our own. I am happy to help you with this. Please call on me.

    • October 30, 2012 1:03 pm

      Hi Krista.
      Thank you for your comment. I think being a Mother really changes our outlook of bullying too. Moms have this natural desire to protect children. And the reality is that bullying happens to all kinds of kids (regardless of the misconceptions out there). Pretty, smart and athletic children get bullied. Every child is a precious gift. I really appreciate your offer for help. My intention is for this campaign to be ongoing so I may be calling on you in the future. Thanks!

  3. Elaine permalink
    October 30, 2012 9:30 pm

    Proud of you. I too was bullied as a pre-teen and have been bullied in the workplace as well. As an HR professional I see the effects of bullying on adults and it’s a horrible issue with major impact. Kudos to you for reaching out to do something about it.

    • October 31, 2012 9:27 am

      Hi Elaine.
      It’s crazy that not only do we have to deal with bullying as children, but that many adults face it too. How wonderful would life be if we simply all treated each other with respect and love. Thanks for the great comments on my ‘Call on Me’ program for girls.

  4. November 6, 2012 10:33 am

    I will be very proud to be a part of helping with this Initiative. Todays kids must deal with communication in rapid fire, lets turn the tables and let this new communication access work FOR them.
    Best,
    Deanna Toth.

    • November 6, 2012 12:44 pm

      Hi Deanna.

      Thanks for your offer of help. I suffered a severe concussion this summer so I am still not up to my full capacity yet, so as this initative takes off, I will be looking for extra support to help me out. Greatly appreciated!

      Carey-Ann

  5. Jenny Reyno permalink
    February 13, 2013 10:59 am

    Hi Carey-Ann, I thought I’d let you know that my daughter has started her own blog about her years of bullying, the emotional aftermath (depression, anxiety disorder), and her road to recovery . She wants to share this with anyone that may find it helpful. If you’re interested in following her blog it can be found at http://beccasimps.wordpress.com/ She calls it, ‘From a Cat to a Lion’.

    Take care, Jenny

Leave a Reply

