Skip to content

My Christmas Wish

November 26, 2012

Today, I went to a lunchtime yoga class. I needed to clear my head after a frustrating morning when my computer decided to crash before I could save my work!

A few minutes after the class started, a woman in her early 50s entered the studio and set up her mat beside me. I kept noticing throughout the class that something inside of me wanted to reach out to this woman.

I’ve learned these opportunities to respond to what my gut instinct tells me come and go quite quickly. I could decide to ignore these urges by keeping my head down and continuing to do my own thing or I could listen to what is going on inside of me and connect with her.

I made the decision to speak to this lady, commenting on her ability to do one of the poses with great flexibility. After the class, I gathered my belongings. I could feel her gaze on me. I looked over at her and our eyes met. She said she’d keep working on her poses, but would be away on a vacation to Mexico for the next two weeks. I wished her a good vacation and then I was out the door to the change room.

Our paths crossed again moments later as I was leaving the gym. She followed me on the stairs. She called out behind me, “You know, you are really so kind” she said to me. We talked a bit about yoga. She proceeded to tell me that she is in the late stages of colon cancer. She is going through some intense treatment and surgeries. She said she just got back from a trip to Italy. She is trying to do it all and see it all now between her treatments.

Anyone who knows of someone who has been impacted by colon cancer will tell you it is a hidden monster. It often doesn’t raise its head in the form of any noticeable symptoms until it is in the final stages. At that point in time, it is often too late. My sister-in-law Ericka’s Mom, Carol, died of colon cancer. I know Ericka misses her Mom dearly. It is an illness that comes quickly and leaves a major void forever when it takes away someone you love.

I asked my new friend her name. She said Cindy. She told me she was seeing a doctor that everyone said is the best person to have to help her save her life. I hope he does. I gave Cindy a hug. We held each other for a few moments. I could feel her fear and her strength at the same time. What a brave woman.

As I walked out into the parking lot to find my car, I could feel tears burning my eyes. By the time I got into my car, I just let the tears flow. How can this be happening to Cindy? Life can be so unfair. I felt so frustrated because I wanted to do more for her.

I don’t know if there is any truth to the law of attraction. That what we focus on and think about can actually attract the outcome we desire. But I can tell you that I will be putting my energies and thoughts towards visualizing good health for Cindy.

My wish this Christmas is for the doctor to be able to save Cindy’s life. I know that may be a big thing to ask for. I remember when I was a little girl and really wanted something for Christmas from Santa, I just had to be a good girl and it often ended up appearing under the tree. I realize this is a ‘grown up’ wish and it can be more complex.

I encourage you to share this blog with others you know. And I challenge everyone who reads this to make your own Holiday Wish. Think of someone who needs help…maybe even a miracle. Send out your positive thoughts, vibes and actions in their direction. Do what you can to help. I assure you it will be one of the best gifts you’ll ever give and receive. This is the gift of love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

