Skip to content

Should I Stay or Should I Go?

February 20, 2013

Are you feeling restless in your job? Do you have this feeling deep down inside there might be something else out there for you? But then as you start to think about what may be possible for you, fears come to the surface and leave you wondering if the grass really would be greener on the other side.

If you are feeling any of these emotions, this article will help bring you some clarity about making the decision, ‘Should I Stay or Should I Go?’

First of all, I want you to know that if you are having feelings of unrest, you are not alone. My Career Coaching program is one of Potential Unlimited’s most popular offerings. The reason is that as people grow and change, sometimes they are left with questions about their job or current organization still being the right fit for them. And we all want to make sure we are spending our time providing value, having fun and making a difference in the world while at the same time, making good money to provide for ourselves and our families.

I know I may not be able to help you figure out all of the answers to the questions in your mind about your career in just this one article, but I want to give you some ideas to consider that will start you along the path to making some important decisions.

Start by asking yourself the following:

1. Do I dread getting up in the morning because I don’t want to go to work?

2. While at work, do I ever think I am wasting my time?

3. Have I lost passion for my current job?

4. If I am honest with myself, can I say I have outgrown my role?

5. Are the company values completely different than my own values?

6. When I am at home, do I feel exhausted?

7. Do I find myself feeling jealous when I hear of someone else doing something very different from me and enjoying her career?

8. Do I have problems falling or staying asleep because I have a lot weighing on my mind?

9. Do I feel like I am trying to put a round peg in a square hole?

Generally speaking, I find when people answer ‘yes’ to 4 or more of these responses they are experiencing some unrest with their job that goes beyond just having a bad day at work. If you fall into this category, something is likely starting to transition inside of you. 

Still needing more help? Here are a few deeper, reflective questions.

1. If I could do anything in the world, would I be doing this job?

2. If I won millions of dollars, what would I do with my life?

3. What does your gut instinct tell you to do?

If this article struck a chord with you, you may be interested to learn more about my Career Coaching. I have been in your situation. Working at a job that was ‘okay,’ but when I really listened to myself, I learned there was so much more I wanted to do with my career and with my life. Several years ago, I made the leap into the great unknown and started Potential Unlimited. I can tell you that I do wake up every morning excited to work. I feel so blessed I chose a career that allows me to help others to be at their best and achieve their goals. If you feel there is something more out there for you, and you may not be sure exactly what that is or how to get it, I’d love to talk to you to see if Career Coaching will benefit you!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

