Skip to content

How to Really Live Happily Ever After!

May 15, 2013

Everyone wants to be happy. When you think of it, likely everything you work for is ultimately for the purpose of either being happy or for love. Are you looking to make more money? Want a new house? Planning a fun vacation? Why are you doing all of this? To be happy, or at least you hope you will be happy when you achieve your goals.

But the interesting thing about happiness is that we often look at it as an end goal. Have you ever found yourself saying, “When I get X then I can relax a bit…or then I will feel happier?” But anyone who is really happy can tell you that happiness is more about the journey than the end goal. For those who have thought of happiness as an achievement,  you may have found that the end goal to be a bit empty or short-lived for you. And then you continue to hunger for more.

I know that happiness is a billion dollar industry as we all want to be happy. There are all kinds of offerings out there aimed at making people happy. And I coach people in my life coaching program on ways to improve their happiness too. But today, I want to share with you a tool I use to create happiness for myself and also that I have passed down to my clients to increase their own happiness.

If you have been following my newsletters for a while, you likely know that I use  a lot of ‘Top 10’ lists and ‘Top Tips.’ I am all about the quick and easy ways to help you get what you want. So, it should come as no surprise that I have my Top Ten Happiness List. Only for this list, I offer no tips. This list is something personal to you that you need to create.

What I have found is that when I created a list of the things I love to do, that make me feel alive, and then start building them into my life on a regular basis, some amazing things happened. First of all, my stress level decreased. I could feel my happiness increase after a week of doing this. And people around me noticed a difference in my mood. Plus, I got into better shape physically too. Sounds too good to be true? Well it is not, and the best part is that it can be free to do!

So I’ll help you start to build your list. Think of the things you love doing. The things that make you happy. These are the activities you ‘want’ to do, not the ones you feel you ‘should’ do. Next, start to plot them down with dates as to how often you can commit to doing them. I challenge you to make them happen more often than you may initially think you can due to your busy schedule. Next, start doing them. Once you have made the list a part of your routine, review it every quarter to see if there are fun seasonal activities you want to add to it and other things you want to remove. This list should be ever evolving, just like you. But try to keep it to 10 items as any more may be just too much and then you risk feeling overwhelmed and not continuing on. I don’t want too much of a good thing to become a bad thing for you.

Take a look at my list and feel free to steal some ideas for your own list if they resonate with you too!

Carey-Ann’s Top 10 Happiness List:

1. Meditate every day

2. Exercise every day

3. Go for a 60-minute massage every two weeks.

4. Connect with a friend(s) once every two weeks.

5. Leave an hour ‘free’ in each day to be strategic, day dream and allow myself to get the creative juices flowing!

6. Work with coaching clients every week.

7. Get outdoors for at least 30 minutes each day (rain or shine)!

8.Enjoy a latte at Starbucks once every two weeks. I am not a coffee drinker but love to indulge in a latte every now and then. I equally enjoying sitting at a quiet cafe and watching people or just thinking. There is something wonderful about letting your mind free.

9. Go to the water once a week. This can be swimming or even a walk down to the lake. There is something that makes me feel ‘at home’ in my body and at peace when I am close to water.

10. Laugh every day. This often means spending time with my family. I love and cherish the time I spend with those that mean the most to me. And we have a lot of fun together too. Also, I find being with children is a great way to gain perspective on life, which for me, often leads to happiness.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2013 6:23 pm

    This is a wonderful article with great suggestions on how to incorporate what matters most into our lives. Thanks for sharing this perspective!

    • May 30, 2013 1:03 pm

      Thanks Melissa. I know we are all on the path to find greater happiness in our lives. I love sharing tips to help people live the lives they want and deserve!

  2. Kelly permalink
    June 5, 2013 10:38 am

    Thank you for sharing this article. I’m guilty of always wanting more. I am going to start my own top ten list and hope that it will help me to be a happier person.

    • June 5, 2013 10:41 am

      Hi Kelly.

      I’m glad you are going to build your own Top Ten list. The greatest challenge people find with this is that they get in their own way and focus on the ‘should do’s’ over the ‘wants.’ Remember you deserve to build your life around the ‘wants.’ Enjoy your beautiful life!

Leave a Reply

