Skip to content

Set Yourself Up for Success!

September 4, 2014

Potential Unlimited’s Top Success Tips:

1. Start each day with solitude. For the past year, I have set aside 15 minutes each morning to meditate and quiet my mind. On the rare days I don’t use my solitude time, I feel the enormous difference. I now have an awareness that if I don’t ground myself first,  my actions and thoughts feel like I am being flung through the day. I end up feeling drained.  This is how I previously lived my life all the time. Until I took the time to tune into myself, I didn’t understand that life could feel so full of peace, joy, fulfillment and productivity – all at the same time.

2. Make choices. I was recently speaking with a very successful senior executive and she told me for her, it came down to choices. I completely agree. It makes life very tough on you if you try to do everything.  If you are working full-time with a spouse who is doing the same and you have children, you need to look at where you can outsource. If you are a single parent, you have even more weight on you. Guilt can be a factor, but realize you are making the best choices you can in the current moment for you and your family. But, the key is that you have to sit down and look at what you really need to be doing and what you don’t need to do. Then take the action on either outsourcing it, or just leaving it and accepting things as less than perfect in those areas of your life.

3. Focus. Multitasking sucks the energy out of us. There is nothing wrong with trying to juggle lots of balls in the air, but research shows we are 25 per cent more productive to do one thing at a time.

4. Get away from your email. One of my coaching clients told me she checks her email twice a day. This helps give her focus. I check my email more often than that, but I know I am more productive on the days when I check it less compared to looking at it every few minutes. It is tough to give your best to a project or another person, when you are always in a state of partial attention because you are glued to the email. Find your balance here. 

5.Cross out of your comfort zone. We tend to associate with those we already know or those we feel are most like us. I encourage you to make the effort to introduce yourself to someone new this week. Set a goal for yourself to meet and connect with a new person each week. This is a great way to build your network and also to feel good by connecting with others.

6. Get outside. Did you enjoy the time spent outdoors over the summer? Did you feel a greater sense of clarity and well-being?  There is actually scientific data that shows the more we can be outside in nature, the lower our cortisol levels and adrenaline. This equates to a calmer, clearer mind. I know the weather is starting to get cooler and schedules with back-to-school make it more difficult to make the time to get outside. But, I encourage you to bundle up and continue or modify your summer traditions outside at least several times a week.

7. Exercise. Exercise has been shown to increase the neural pathways in your brain. I am living, breathing proof of that. After my brain injury several years ago (and rest period that was required in the beginning), exercise within my limits was prescribed by my brain rehab team because it really does create brain power and new pathways. Exercise can make you smarter, quicker and more focused. The best kind of exercise to do for your brain is some sort of cardiovascular activity that gets your heart pumping for at least 20 minutes.

8. Be true to yourself. Write down a list of your top 10 values. Consider where you are living and working/leading in line with these values. Where are you compromising yourself? Look at how you can bring yourself more in line with living in a way that feels right to you. This is also where you will operate at your highest potential at work.

9. Eat, Drink, Sleep and Be Merry! With all of the info and research on health-related topics, we should all know what to eat, how much water to drink (10-12 glasses each day) and the amount of sleep that works for you. But, this is a reminder for you to consider how you can tweak up your lifestyle to be a healthy one. Take this opportunity to consider where you can improve your health and wellness. And of course, laughter is often the best medicine. Don’t take yourself so seriously at work or home. I know what you do is important, but this isn’t open heart surgery (unless of course you are a cardiothoracic surgeon reading this!). Laugh with your teams, spouse, children, parents, dog. Enjoy your precious life!

10. Don’t settle. I find women tend to make a lot of excuses as to why we don’t get what we want. But in reality, we are often afraid to ask for it and to make ourselves vulnerable by really going for it. What if I fail and look like a fool? But I want you to ask yourself, what if you could succeed beyond your wildest dreams but never get there because you didn’t put yourself out there whole heartedly? Often, failure can be part of the path to any success. If you fall, dust yourself off and get back up again. You are good enough. You are more than good enough. Go for it!

Learn more about Potential Unlimited’s Executive Coaching Programs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

