Skip to content

Now is the Time for You to Work With Me as Your Coach!

December 9, 2014

There is no better time than the new year to think about making changes and fresh beginnings. But, we know new year’s resolutions often fall by the wayside as we return to old habits and become too busy to make the changes we really want to make.  Working with a coach is a great way to make changes stick. It will challenge you to reflect, and take action in a way that feels right for you. It also adds the consistency of regular sessions to help you keep up with new routines or continue to develop your growth in key areas.

The majority of the work I do is with corporate clients, helping them to grow and develop their executives and high potentials. But, I also take on some life coaching clients when the fit is right. When I talk to people before we begin coaching, we discuss details of the process and what benefits they can expect to receive from our relationship. If you feel that working with me as your coach may be an option for you, I would like to share with you more about what transformations you can expect to occur and details on the process.

Also, for the month of January, I am offering a FREE 15-minute consultation call to explore if working with me as your coach may be right for you! You can contact me at ceo@potentialunlimited.ca to set up a time.

What is coaching?

Coaching with Potential Unlimited is focused on the relationship created between the coach and client for the purpose of helping clients further their professional as well as personal development. Throughout a coaching call with me, I will share some experiences about my own life as appropriate, but the session is really focused on you.  The tools I will use as your coach will help you find the answers and solutions that are best for you. I believe everyone has a different path that is right for them. My job is not to tell people where to go, but to help them to get there.

How often do we work together?

Coaching sessions occur twice a month for six months.  Generally they occur over the phone with an option to do an in-person Discovery Session (the first session) if the client is located close in geographical proximity.

What tools does Carey-Ann use in her coaching?

I use a variety of tools in my coaching that really depend on what the individual needs. I utilize powerful questions to dig deep into what is really going on. I also use balanced perspective exercises to help executives gain insight into the broader picture. And, some people just need me to be a strategic sounding board. A lot of these details are decided upon by the client and myself during our Discovery Session when we map out our coaching relationship to ensure the client is  getting the most out of our time working together.

What is the difference between life coaching and executive coaching?

Executive Coaching is when I work with leaders who want to continue their professional development in a highly customized way. I provide them with a strategic sounding board and I help them further refine their skills to prepare them for the next step (and the step beyond that) in their careers. With that being said, I deal with the holistic person and I believe we can not separate who we are at work from who we are as people. If issues come up on the home front that are really bothering an executive or if something happened in the past that is still creating an obstacle in her/his life, we deal with it. The reality is if people are struggling in their lives outside of work, this will eventually begin to show up on the job.

Tools around stress management related to the unique pressures faced by leaders are often introduced in the sessions in combination with strategic development. Generally, I am hired for life coaching when there are specific issues that come up in an individual’s life that are not related to work. This could be anything from struggling to get through a divorce to wanting to find his/her life purpose.

What training does a coach need?

There is no regulated training for coaches anywhere. This means that anyone can say she is a coach. It is very important when talking to coaches that you ask them about their credentials and do your research on them before the hire. I would recommend a coach who has either completed training with the Coaches Training Institute or The International Coaches Federation.

How long do coaching relationships last?

Typically anywhere from two to four years. But, the only commitment I ask of my clients is to sign a six-month contract with me where I work with them on coaching calls generally twice a month. At the end of the six months, it is completely up to them if they wish to continue. Even when a client signs a contract with me, there is always the option to exit with no financial penalty before the end of the contract. I am very confident in the value I provide to clients and I have never had anyone withdraw from a coaching contract. Once you engage in the process, you will understand the value it can bring to you.

What are the benefits of coaching?

I have seen amazing benefits in the work I do with my clients.  Through our work, I can help you get promoted. I can help you work on skills to be more successful in your current job (i.e public speaking, self-confidence, effective delegating, and the list goes on). Since I deal with the ‘whole’ person when I coach, I can assure you that I will help you find ways to better manage your stress and I often have clients who get in great shape as a side benefit to the work we do. Through the coaching process, you can uncover things about yourself that will likely create a few ‘aha’ types of moments, giving you better insight into blockages stopping you from living the beautiful life you were born to lead.

What differentiates Carey-Ann’s coaching from that of other coaches?

There are lots of good coaches out there and some coaches that are not so great. So I am not going to say I am the very best and you should choose me. What I will say is that I am really good at connecting with people and seeing beneath the surface. I have the gift of intuitively reading others and I can sense things going on with them which allows us to break through to the heart of the matter quickly.  I am very strategic in my approach, partly due to my corporate executive background and my MBA education. All of my corporate coaching sessions follow an action plan and often clients’ scorecards are used as a source of working toward tangible goals. But to me the number one thing I bring to my coaching is my enthusiasm to help you be the best person you can be in all areas of your life.

What would Carey-Ann, as a coach, expect of me as a client in the coaching relationship?

I expect dedication. I count on the people who sign up for coaching with me to be serious about living their best lives. I am not the type of coach that piles on lots of homework.  I know many of the executives I deal with have enough pressure in their lives. But I do expect you to put aside some time for reflection. I talk to every client in advance of taking them on to ensure there is a fit for coaching. I do not take on every person who approaches me. I am looking for people who are driven to be better – for themselves, for their families, for their companies and quite frankly, for the world. Coaching has the ability to help you make major shifts to lead towards a more successful and fulfilling life and career. To set up your free consultation to see if coaching is right for you, contact me at ceo@potentialunlimited.ca I’d love to hear from you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gary & Marilyn Greenham permalink
    December 21, 2014 4:28 pm

    Excellent!

Leave a Reply

