Skip to content

Who Needs Your Help?

October 18, 2015

Yesterday, I passed by an older woman who asked me for money. I was focused on where I was going, and this response came out, “I don’t have any money.”

A lie. Although, I use credit cards for most purchases, I did have a bit of money on me. But, I saw this request from the old lady as a distraction. But I caught myself. I physically stopped and turned around, feeling ashamed.

I dug into my purse and returned to her. She was left standing in the same spot I first saw her. She looked up at me as I approached. I saw a sadness in her eyes.

I told her I do have some money for her. As I dropped the money into her hand, I could see the darkened lines of dirt through every crease of her wrinkled, rough hands.

People can say what they want about enabling homeless people, but in that moment, my gut instinct told me I had done wrong to pass by her and she needed help. I trusted her, without judgement, that she would use that money in the best way possible to serve her needs.

A small price for me to pay to be mindful about how blessed I am and all of the gifts in my life. As I sat down to a warm, delicious meal that evening, I thought about that woman. It put a lot of my worries in life into perspective.

Today, think about who your gut instinct is telling you to help. This is the quickest path to deepening a sense of leading a fulfilling life.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

