Skip to content

What I Am Most Proud Of!

May 23, 2016

Recently, I celebrated my 40th birthday. I think when most of us approach these milestone events, it is a period of reflection.

Recently, I was asked a question when speaking with a potential client that was profound in my reflection. The question was, “What are you most proud of?” I think she was looking for a success story about one of my Executive Coaching clients. But I have so many amazing clients, there is no way I could pick just one. So, I began to think broader. My children are a source of pride and joy for me. Yet, I wanted to drill down deeper and think what I am most proud of about myself.

What I am most proud of is that life has thrown me a few curve balls over the past four years – I suffered a brain injury, found out I have two fairly big holes in my heart, received a diagnosis of a rare autoimmune disease of localized scleroderma, cope with daily chronic pain in my back and neck, lost my Dad to lung cancer at the age of 66 years old, built an amazing business at the same time and have learned to be present and focus on quality moments with my 5 and 6 year-old girls. I am by no means, Super Woman. I am a regular woman who has fallen down many times over the past few years and I continue to get back up. To show up, to love and to be kind. To do my best.

Your stories may be different. But, I have no doubt that you, too, have fallen down sometime over the past few years and willed yourself to carry on. My story is my own, but I think when we share we can see ourselves in each other. And, knowing we are not alone in our experiences is a powerful force to make us stronger.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

